Name the tune that still does it for you (answers on a postcard, if you please)

Thirty years ago, when I was working my way up through the ranks at McCormick Internarco-Farner, our then Creative Director Gerry Moira was working with a film producer on some new effects to use in a TV campaign.  The producer (sorry, but I can’t remember who that was) had been working on pop videos and had a few on his show-reel.  Among these was this one with Chaz Jankel which made the rounds of the agency and was immediately loved and adopted by pretty well everyone.

I don’t remember the tune making it to the charts.  I can’t even remember if we used the effects in a commercial, but I came across it again quite by accident last week and I was surprised to find that, unlike most of the old stuff I listen to, it still had me wanting to get up and dance!  Even the video is great!  I guess we all have songs in our past that still do it for us.  So what’s yours?

2 responses to “Name the tune that still does it for you (answers on a postcard, if you please)

  1. I have the feeling that Gerry Moira performed in a kind of Adland “Blues Brothers” band that performed at D&AD events… if so, almost everything in their repertoire still does it for me… but that’s just nostalgia. In terms of TV spots, it has to be BA Flower Duet.

  2. You are right about Gerry’s band. He may even have appeared at the Saatchi Xmas party held way back at the Hammersmith Palais backing Bill Muirhead on “How Do Do-It-All Do IT?” which was, of course a Saatchi campaign. Anybody remember that? Those were the days! Gerry also collected Porsches. Among them I think he had a Martini Racing one that Jacky Ickx drove at Le Mans.

Leave a Reply

